NWC Banner

Northwest Chess — Chess News from Washington, Oregon and Idaho

Northwest Chess is a non-profit corporation registered in Washington State.
Business Manager Address: Eric Holcomb, 1900 NE 3rd St STE 106 PMB 361, Bend, OR 97701-3889.
See magazine section for subscription and advertising information.
Home Articles Calendar Clubs Games Grand Prix
History Links Magazine Officers Registration Scholastics

WCF / OCF / ICA / NWCF Officers

About Us / FAQ page

Unless you are a resident of Washington State, your Northwest Chess subscription no longer includes a state chess membership. (Existing memberships will continue to be honored until they expire.)

Per the new NWCF Bylaws adopted Jan. 26, 2020:

4.1 Number and Powers. The management of all the affairs, property, and interests of the corporation shall be vested in a Board of Directors consisting of two (2) state directors selected by the Washington Chess Federation (WCF), plus two (2) “managing” directors, who ordinarily will be the Publisher and Business Manager, plus three (3) directors-at-large.

Washington Chess Federation

Please address WCF mail to the Orlov Chess Academy, 4174 148TH AVE NE BLDG I STE M, REDMOND, WA 98052-5164 (new address as of Oct. 2016).

Note: All WCF offices are staggered 2-year terms that expire at the annual membership meeting at the Washington Open (usually in May) in the years indicated below.

See the constitution of the Washington Chess Federation.

President (term expires 2022)
Josh Sinanan, joshsinanan@gmail.com or washingtonchessfederation@gmail.com

Vice President (term expires 2023)
Duane Polich, duane@combonate.com

Treasurer (term expires 2023)
Robert Allen, allenrobertj@msn.com

Women and Girls Director (term expires 2023) / Secretary (term expires 2022)
Chouchanik Airapetian, chornyaa@msn.com

Member-at-Large (term expires 2023)
Ani Barua, barua.aniruddha@gmail.com

Tournament Coordinator (term expires 2021)
Valentin Razmov (selected at WCF board meeting in June)

Corporate and Collegiate Director (term expires 2023)
Florian Helff, fhelff@gmail.com

Adult Chess Director (term expires 2023)
Rekha Sagar, rekha4chess@gmail.com

Events Manager (appointed position, non-board member)
Eddie Chang, eddie@changgroup.com

Scholastic Coordinator (term expires 2022)
Jacob Mayer, Jacob.MayerChess@gmail.com

Historian (term expires 2022)
Gary Dorfner, ggarychess@aol.com

Registrar (term expires 2022)
David Hendricks, DavidCHendricks@comcast.net

Northwest Chess Board Members
Josh Sinanan, Aniruddha Barua and Duane Polich (as Publisher)

US Chess Delegates
Fred Kleist, Murlin Varner (alternate)


Oregon Chess Federation

Term September 2020 to August 31, 2022 (or until annual meeting).
Note: All OCF offices are 2-year terms that expire at the annual membership meeting at the Oregon Open (usually in September) in even-numbered years.

See Oregon Chess Federation bylaws (revised at the 2018 and 2020 annual OCF meetings).

President (and NWCF board member)
Wilson Gibbins, wgibbins@comcast.net

Vice President
Carl Haessler, carl@NWchessworks.com

Secretary
Dave Murray

Treasurer
Mike Morris, mikejmorris@earthlink.net

Tournament Coordinator
Micah Smith, micah.smith@wsu.edu

Director-at-Large #1
Greg Markowski

Director-At-Large #2
Roshen Nair

US Chess Delegate
Carl Haessler, carl@NWchessworks.com


Idaho Chess Association

See the linked website for more information including current officers.


Northwest Chess Foundation

The NWCF board members are as follows, effective Jan. 3, 2021:

  • Josh Sinanan (WCF)
  • Aniruddha Barua (WCF)
  • Wilson Gibbins (OCF)
  • Duane Polich (Publisher)
  • Eric Holcomb (Business Manager)
  • Jeff Roland (Editor and member-at-large)
  • Ralph Dubisch (Games Editor and member-at-large)
  • Alex Machin (member-at-large)

See the NWC response forms to easily send your message!

See NWC meeting minutes.

General Inquiries
info@nwchess.com

Northwest Chess Editor
Jeffrey Roland, editor@nwchess.com

Northwest Chess Publisher
Duane Polich, publisher@nwchess.com

Northwest Chess Business Manager
Eric Holcomb, Eric@Holcomb.com or businessmanager@nwchess.com